Joel Daniel Phillips
Joel Daniel Phillips

Joel Daniel Phillips, a recent resident of San Francisco, began his project “when he migrated to San Francisco four years ago after graduating from college, at which time he moved into his new home/art studio on the corner of 6th and Mission without ever having visited the neighborhood. “I have a very distinct memory of pulling my Budget Truck into the alley behind the space and hearing heroin syringes pop under the tires,” he said, “thinking ‘what the hell have I gotten myself into?'”

“Many of the people who live on 6th and Mission are the kind of people who we don’t know how to deal with on a daily basis — social dark matter, if you will,” Phillips concluded. “The sort of individuals who we bypass on the sidewalk and don’t make eye contact with because we don’t know how to respond. Each drawing is a visual record of my striving to recognize unknown and unnoticed individuals through the tip of my pencil.”(Huffington Post Arts and Culture, “Closer Look at Homeless Communities.”)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

