(Beautiful poster! The trailer is a piece of art!)

Saturday night I saw the Steve Jobs movie.  I loved it.  Kind of a quirky approach to a biography, but I still loved it.  The movie was filmed in San Francisco and Berkeley and was released in the Bay Area this week.  Script by Aaron Sorkin and starring Michael Fassbender.

My husband asked me why I was so enthusiastic about seeing the film.  We both read Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson.  Don admitted that the movie was exceptional, but he was put-off by how badly Jobs treated people.  Jobs was not a likable man.

Despite Jobs’ tyrannical personality, I admire that Jobs was passionate about design, about aesthetics.  He willingly sacrificed profit to make stunningly beautiful products.  He selected artists, designers, musicians and poets to collaborate in making Apple great.

“Jobs understood that people will pay a premium for great design. It is, after all, part of the biological makeup of humans to seek out beauty – and respond to it emotionally.  The architects of Gothic cathedrals knew this, creating their soaring ceilings to instill the faithful with the spirit of the sublime.  In a sense, Jobs did something of the same.” (Forbes 2011)

steve-jobs-movie-poster-800px-800x1259

