By Maureen B. Fitzmahan

DSCF9794.jpg
mbfitzmahan. New roses. 2017

Oh yes, I am processing, too. I am taking this time to take a very onerous adventure of going through my 77,000 digital photos. I transferred my photos off of iPhoto onto Lightroom. I first eliminated 17,000 duplicates. Then I did some easy house cleaning, so to speak. Now, I am down to 35,000 photos. Half of those are family photos.

Last,  I went through my art photos and chose the top 1200 photos. I’m labeling each one of those photos with 4 and 5 stars.

My goal is to come up with a list of the 10 best. 10 of the second best. And analyze why I think the top 10 are the best. I have learned a great deal about my photography and about me through this process. My hope is that this will help me focus on what kind of photos I want to take. And how I will take them.

This has been my GENESIS, my rebirth process.

DSCF9801-Edit.jpg
mbfitzmahan. Thoughts. 2017

Note: Tao was kind enough to come over and help me with Lightroom.  Don spent hours researching and helping me get my photos off of iPhoto and onto Lightroom.

Erin is helping me with branding, a new concept for me.  Branding is the marketing practice of creating a name, symbol or design that identifies and differentiates one product from other products.

Finally, I went with other Art Junket artists to the opening of the Matisse/Diebenkorn exhibit at the SFMOMA, where I picked up ideas on color, the contrast of black against color, and on framing.

